Just a random day…

It wasn’t a special day, it was just another day today. But, does it have to be a special day to be a great day??

I had breakfast with a good friend as the sun warmed the bay with its first rays, casting auburn tints across the wet sand. The company was great, the coffee hot and strong and the setting idyllic.

I worked from 9am until 1pm (just part-time right now, starting full-time 1st of January!!). It was a very busy day on the beach, thankfully no emergencies. Soooooo stoked to be in January almost and still hitting 27ºC and 20 in the water. Work isn’t all good, Haven’t had a full wage for 3 months, some of the lifeguards haven’t been paid for 4 months…..

At 1 I ran the two minutes  from work to home, stuffed some rice cakes and boiled eggs down my throat, grabbed a SUP board, pulled on a rash vest and paddled out. The waves weren’t incredible but it was warm, the ocean impossibly transparent, the orb of the December sun blazed down as the waves rolled in. The vibe in the water was great, my friend Santi out on his SUP, Penny his chocolate labrador perched on the nose.

Two hours later the predicted wind kicked in and kite and windsurfers started to do their thing as sails and kites whizzed by at dizzying speeds. Bu then my shoulders where like jelly anyway. It was only my third time on a Stand Up Paddleboard and I am still amazed at how hard it is to master. It is like trying to turn a Boeing 747 wing whilst on a rodeo bull travelling at 30km an hour. It is, however, great fun. After surfing for almost 20 years it is refreshing to try something new, make a fool of yourself and feel that stoke that only groms seem to feel.

From there I half carried and half dragged the enormous board back, threw on my running shoes and shorts and hit the coastal trail that follows the coast around Montaña Roja (Red Mountain) for an intense 45 minute run. After thirty minutes my legs felt like lead, lots of exercise and not much food so no surprise there. I kept the momentum up, grinding through as the sun beat down on my back whilst it reflected of the red lava giving an almost electric glow to the landscape.

As I sit here now I have a small treat in front of me, a cold Heineken beer….. I can’t tell you how good it tastes…… Today wasn’t a special day it was just a day but it was good and despite my various problems right now….. I am not sure I would want to have spent it any other way. Anyway, you can’t put a price on something so valuable.

Another day, another....well, maybe we will get paid soon... Montaña Roja in the background at El Médano

Another day, another….well, maybe we will get paid soon… Montaña Roja in the background at El Médano

 

One thought on “Just a random day…

  1. Pingback: Where I am and Why: January 2012: El Médano, Tenerife, Canary Islands | Islandmomma

Leave a Reply

